Follow Reality Bite on Facebook

Russia break qualifying streak after Julia Samoylova fails to make Eurovision final

Thursday 10th May 2018

Russia have failed to get through to the Eurovision grand final— ending their 100 per cent qualifying streak.

Julia Samoylova’s ‘I Won’t Break’ failed to make the grade to go through to Saturday’s song contest.

The wheelchair using singer returned to the competition after being controversially banned from last year's Eurovision in Kyiv, Ukraine after it was found she had entered the Crimea in 2014.

Ten countries out of 18 competing in the second semi-final have won places in the competition.

Also missing out on a place in the final are Romania, San Marino, Georgia, Poland, Malta, Latvia, Montenegro and Slovenia.

Qualifying are Serbia, Moldova, Hungary, Ukraine, Sweden, Australia, Norway, Denmark, Slovenia and the Netherlands.

They join the big five—United Kingdom, Spain, Germany, Italy and France— along with the 10 qualifiers from semi-final 1.

These were Ireland, Austria, Estonia, Cyprus, Lithuania, Israel, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Albania, and Finland.

Ireland won their spot for the first time since 2013, with Ryan O'Shaughnessy impressing fans watching at home with the song Together, about the end of a love affair, which featured two male dancers telling the story of a couple on stage.

The Eurovision grand final will take place on Saturday, airing on BBC One from 8pm.

Latest Eurovision Articles